ARLP Program Participants

Targeted counties for this program are: Bledsoe, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Fentress, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Rhea, Scott, Sevier, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren and White

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) designated the above counties as Distressed or At-Risk. ARC uses an index-based classification system to compare each county in the nation with national averages on three economic indicators—three-year average unemployment rates, per capita market income, and poverty rates. Based on that comparison, each Appalachian county is classified within one of five economic status designations—Distressed, At-Risk, Transitional, Competitive, or Attainment. For more information on the ARC or their Distressed Counties Program, please visit their website

Eligible Property Types: For Distressed Counties: Single Family 1-4 unit residence or manufactured home (single or double-wide). For At-Risk Counties: Single family 1-4 unit residence or manufactured home (double-wide only).

Ineligible Property Types: Commercial properties, multifamily properties, and properties listed on a state or national historic register.

How can I apply to become an ARLP Program Participant?
To become an Program Participant of the ARLP, you must be a non-profit organization organized under Tennessee laws with a 501(c)(3) designation and apply to become an approved participant of the program. To apply, you must complete a detailed Participant Application and submit it to THDA for review. THDA will review and respond to your request to become a Program Participant within 30 days of receipt. THDA will only review completed applications. Applicants are encouraged to use the Application Checklist provided with the Participant Application to avoid submitting incomplete applications. Once the Program Participant is approved, their agency’s name will be listed on the ARLP webpage.

Participant Applications may be submitted electronically to: or by mail to:

Tennessee Housing Development Agency
Attn: SF Special Programs
502 Deaderick St., 3rd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243





Participant Application Forms
Loan Application Forms