Mainstream 811 Non-Elderly Disabled (NED) Voucher

The Mainstream 811 Non-Elderly Disabled (NED) voucher, also known as Mainstream NED enables income eligible household members who is a non-elderly (age 18 and under 62) person with disabilities who is transitioning out of institution, other segregated settings, or at serious risk of institutionalization, or homelessness. Eligible applicants may apply when their preferred county wait list is open.

NOTE: The household member must meet all above criteria including be disabled, meet the non-elderly requirement and be income eligible for the program. The eligible person does not need to be the head of household. All information will be verified.

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) provided the Mainstream 811 NED provision to work within the Housing Choice Voucher Program. HUD awarded the Tennessee Housing Development Agency (THDA) funding for 129 Mainstream 811 NED vouchers to administer across Tennessee in the 72 of 95 counties they serve with the assistance of a partnership.

Partnership includes but is not limited to:

Tennessee Commission on Aging and Disability (TCAD)

Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS)

Division of TennCare

Managed Care Organizations

  • Amerigroup
  • BlueCare
  • United Healthcare

Other Questions, email: